I, The Hypocrite

               The best way to be a hypocrite is to stop striving to be real and it comes naturally to us because by default we are hypocrites. No one need to teach us to be a hypocrite, rather we need to learn and strive to be real.

            They say ” Give a man a mask and he will show his true face “, I don’t know why they keep saying that because contrary to that I believe the otherwise is true. The reason I say that is because I have picked so many masks that I have almost forgotten who I really was. And now I have become a quality hypocrite who like a chameleon adapts to the surrounding, well it is not hard to play hypocrite in a society where people are never bothered about you, they are busy in carrying their own mask.

            Masks after masks, I dare not stand before the mirror and ask “Mirror-o-mirror remind me who I am?” I am afraid I have acted so well as a hypocrite that I forgot who I am. You might want to ask me why do I pick mask, or why do people play the hypocrite. So there are can be many reasons for that, let me share mine. I pick up a mask to hide, to be accepted, to have a pseudo fame, to run away from the problems. I hide because I am not sure of my identity, I am not willing to accept myself as I am. I am hungry for identity and acceptance. I think of my identity based on what people think about me, I am that actor who lives on the applause of his fans, the moment I don’t hear the cheering of the crowd, I am doomed, I lose my identity and I quickly pick another mask to win their hearts.

            I pick up a mask to run away from my problems. I am a man who loves comfort whether or not misery accompanies it, no matter what the cost, I allow nothing to come between me and my comfort. I run away from every possible situation using a mask to hide. I am that secret coward, who picks the mask of the courageous one and escapes all his fears but he is mortally afraid every time. Watch out of all those who are exceptionally good at words, they have a sharp tongue and always ready to answer anything, most of the time they are nothing but talking all air, they have no base, no anchor to hold on to. They wither and change with the season.

            But still there is hope for me, and yeah for all hypocrites. I know God hates hypocrites but Jesus  died for all mankind including us, and He truly loves us, because He alone knows us inside out, He is the one who created us and the one who gives us our identity. In the world full of fake things, He alone is the real thing and He alone can help us to be real. The only thing that we need to do be real is to repent, to give up all our masks in His hand and believe that Jesus died for all our sins. Because He alone can fix what is gone wrong, because who else knows us better than Him, He is waiting to re-engineer us in the image of His Son (Romans 8:29). He wants to adopt us into His family (1 John 1:12), so that we feel accepted(Romans 15:7), loved, and secured(Ephesians 1:13). So that we know what our purpose is so that we have the strength to face every problem, through God who strengthens us. So that we know that we are not here to please people but to please God alone.

When I read Matthew 11:28 where Jesus says “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” I read it as, “Come to me all you who have been weary of wearing and carrying the load of these masks, and I will make you real.” Come let us go before Christ and become real.

Leave a comment